www.CostaRicaTicas.com

Welcome to the #1 Source for Information on Costa Rica
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:25 pm 
CR Virgin - Newbie!

I hear very similar things (don't buy a condo) for both countries, and almost everyone I've met who considered one has considered the other. I'm just beginning to think about real estate abroad and weigh the pros and cons, and figure out what (if anything) to save for.

Since I'm assuming most of you have a lot more experience with this than I do, what are the pros and cons for Cost Rica vs. Thailand? Why did you guys choose one over the other?

Other questions:

Which other countries should I add to me list of places to research?

What are the most common ways to fund this? Is everyone either using retirement savings or equity from a US / UK real estate purchase? Is financing / renting out for income ever an option?

Thanks for any input on this.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:55 am 
CR Virgin - Newbie!

Great topic

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 2:36 pm 
Masters Degree in Mongering!

I don't want to be insensitive, but if it Phucks, Flies, Floats, or is condo in CR or Thailand - Rent it 8)

From my own experience, having a house in a foreign country costs more than you think it will in maintenance and it is very difficult to sell on the back end...

However, everyone is different. The CRT board can tell you about CR. I personally love Bucaramanga, Colombia and you can rent a gorgeous 2bd 2bth in Cacique, right next to large mall and poker room, for $233 a month. https://www.fincaraiz.com.co/apartament ... 88366.aspx