www.CostaRicaTicas.com

Welcome to the #1 Source for Information on Costa Rica
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 1:34 pm 
Not a Newbie I just don't post much!

I'm a 15 year resident down on the coast and it's getting too hot for me these days so I'm phasing out of my current town (Coco) and looking to move to the central valley. I've been looking at Barrio Escalante but will probably look at Sabana and maybe Heredia. I looked at Cartago on the map today and being as how I've never been out there I think I'll take take a run out there next time up to San Jose. I'm looking for a small apartment or studio to rent furnished to use as an SJO home base for my frequent trips to/through SJO. I'd welcome any comments/contacts/suggestions from any of you experienced central valley guys.

Namely these areas of info:
Chica Friendly hotels (all?) in Cartago (a couple of my favoritas live in Cartago)
Furnished apartments Barrio Escalante/Cartago/Heredia/Sabana or other cool loc, how/where to search?
Cartago experience living/staying...any reflections

I see a lot on ads on Encuentra24 for high rise stuff for like $1000 plus...not my price range (yet) and a car needed in most of those developments...boo.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 2:34 pm 
PHD From Del Rey University!

Look between Curridabat (MultiPlaza Este) and Tres Rios (Terramall). You are far enough away from Downtown/UCR area for decent prices. Cartago is definitely cheaper, but further out. Check a couple of blocks to either side of Ruta Nacional 2. I like the Plaza del Sol area. Lots of transportation options. Check out the iFreses high rise, smaller units around $800
https://www.bienesonline.co.cr/ficha-ap ... A69661.php

Also lots of older, smaller buildings but because of the terrain many of these still have views. I chose Sabana over this area because it is flatter and I have mobility issues.